Connect with us


T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022

The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to be the eighth ICC Men’s T20 World Cup tournament, [2] scheduled to be played in October and November 2022 in Australia. [3] [4] The tournament was originally scheduled to take place in India in October and November 2021, however, in July 2020, the International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed that the tournament had been postponed to 2022 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. [5] In August 2020, the ICC also confirmed that Australia would host the 2022 tournament. [6]

In April 2018, the ICC announced that the tournament would replace the planned 2021 ICC Champions Trophy. [7] This comes after the ICC has granted full international status to Twenty20 matches played between member sides since 1 January 2019. [eight]In October 2019, it was reported that the ICC may withdraw the T20 World Championship Qualifier, which would have been used as a route to qualify for the T20 World Championship. [9] Thus, twelve teams from the 2020 ICC T20 World Championship and four teams from the qualifiers will advance to the T20 World Championship. On January 23, 2020, the ICC confirmed the full details of the qualification for the tournament. [10] In May 2020, the ICC informed the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) that they reserve the right to take hosting rights away from India after BCCI failed to secure an Indian government tax exemption for the tournament. . [eleven]In July 2020, when the previous edition of the tournament was being re-examined due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Earl Eddings, chairman of Cricket Australia, suggested that Australia could host this tournament in October 2021, with India hosting the tournament a year later in 2022. [12 ] The ICC has also confirmed that Australia or India, hosts of the tournaments originally scheduled for 2020 and 2021 respectively, will host the tournament. [13] [14]

The twelve teams that advance to the Super 12 phase of the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup Men’s World Cup will automatically qualify for the 2022 tournament. [15] They will be joined by the top two teams from each of the two Global Qualifiers. [10] Sixteen teams will compete in the Global Qualifiers; the bottom four teams from the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, the next top four ranked T20I teams ( Zimbabwe, Nepal, United Arab Emirates and Singapore ) [16] and the eight teams that qualified from the regional final. [ten]

Global Qualifiers

The global qualifiers will consist of the lowest ranked four teams since the 2021 ICC T20 World Championship, the top four teams that have not yet qualified for the World Championship or qualifiers; and eight teams from regional qualifiers. [10] On 24 March 2020, the International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed that all ICC qualifying events scheduled to take place through 30 June 2020 have been rescheduled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. [17] In December 2020, the ICC updated the qualification scheme following the disruption due to the pandemic. [eighteen]

  1. “ICC Converts India 2021 Champions Trophy to World T20”. Times of India. Retrieved 26 April 2018.
  2. “ICC drops 50+ runners Champions trophy, India to host 2021 World Cup”. First postRetrieved 29 April 2018.
  3. “2020 ICC T20 Men’s World Cup Postponed”. International Cricket CouncilRetrieved 20 July 2020.
  4. “India to retain T20 World Cup in 2021 and Australia in 2022”. ESPN CricinfoRetrieved 7 August 2020.
  5. “FAQ on Postponement of the Men’s T20 World Cup”. International Cricket CouncilRetrieved 20 July 2020.
  6. “The venue for the rescheduled 2020 ICC T20 Men’s World Cup confirmed”. International Cricket CouncilRetrieved 7 August 2020.
  7. “Twice in a row World T20 replacement for Champions Trophy”. ESPN CricinfoRetrieved 26 April 2018.
  8. “All T20I matches for international status”. International Cricket CouncilRetrieved 26 April 2018.
  9. “T20 FIFA World Cup qualifiers to be abolished for 2021”. CricBuzzRetrieved 31 October 2019.
  10. ^ a b c d “Qualification process for 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Championship confirmed”. International Cricket CouncilRetrieved 23 January 2020.
  11. “ICC threatens to move 2021 T20 World Cup from India over tax issues”. ESPN CricinfoRetrieved 27 May 2020.
  12. “T20 World Cup ‘unrealistic’ and ‘unlikely’ this year – Cricket Australia chairman”. ESPN CricinfoRetrieved June 16, 2020.
  13. “ICC World Men’s T20 Championship Australia Postponed”. International Cricket CouncilRetrieved 20 July 2020.
  14. “World Cup call like no other opens road to summer”. Cricket AustraliaRetrieved 21 July 2020.
  15. “ICC expands 2021 T20 World Cup qualification to 16 teams”. ESPN CricinfoRetrieved 23 January 2020.
  16. “Singapore advanced to global qualifier for 2022 T20 World Cup”. ESPN CricinfoRetrieved December 14, 2020.
  17. “COVID-19 Update – ICC Qualifying Events”. International Cricket CouncilRetrieved 26 March 2020.
  18. “Australia 2022 Men’s World Cup Qualification Confirmed”. International Cricket CouncilRetrieved December 14, 2020.
  19. “The Road to Qualifying for the 2022 T20 World Cup”. Cricket EuropeRetrieved December 14, 2020.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *